Skip to main content
  • Senda del Duero
    Senda del Duero

Senda del Duero

This natural path, also known as GR-14, crosses the region of Castile and Leon. It starts in the Sierra de Urbión in the province of Soria and finishes in the dock of Vega Terrón in the province of Salamanca.

The route includes 42 stages; 10 of them go through the province of Salamanca, getting inside its rich cultural and historic heritage , discovering the most interesting architecture and cultural assets and getting to know the customs, fiestas and traditions of the area. . You can start in Fermoselle, in the province of Zamora, and from there go to the villages of Trabanca, Villarino de los Aires, Pereña de la Ribera, Masueco, Aldeadávila de la Ribera, Mieza, Vilvestre, Saucelle, Hinojosa de Duero, La Fregeneda and Vega Terrón, all of them in the province of Salamanca.

The river Duero and its tributaries, the Tormes and Huebra get narrow, giving as a result an amazing net of canyons: Las Arribes in the province of Salamanca.

Overwhelming waterfalls such as the Pozo de los Humos or el Cachón de Camaces, can be seen here and there in these Mediterranean landscapes; the flora and fauna have also contributed to the declaration of the area as a Natural Park.

The Senda del Duero is a great opportunity to go to lookouts, among vineyards and olive groves and, at the same time, contemplate the magnificent dams of the Duerro: the dam of Almendra, with more than 2,600 m3, which is the highest one, with 200 metres to the top of the dam; and the dam of Aldeadávila de la Ribera, which has been used as a filming setting.

Photo gallery